I take a size 11

by nvltgo - 3/24/09 8:31 PM

In Reply to: If the shoe fits by Cat5 Cane

I do appreciate the compliment and i do understand the frustration people have over getting their cars fixed. I own three myself, my son has one, my daughter has one and everybody I know has one and they all know I'm a tech. I'm sure you know what that means.

Even on my own vehicles I have to go back most often more times then just once to fix a problem. The reason for this is simple. Most of the posts here state something acts up then it clears up and two or three days later it will do it again.

These problems are very hard to fix on the spot. Lets say the tech is lucky enough to actually duplicate the problem. He then starts his diagnostics to pin point the defective component. All of a sudden everything is working again and yet nothing has been changed or repaired. What would you have the tech do?

Lets say that the problem is the drivers window stops working. The possible choices are..window motor, window wiring, window switch, body control module, powertrain control module, drivers door module, passengers door module and all the wiring between each of these devices. The tech. throughout the remainder of the day tries to duplicate the problem again and again but is never able to. Now bear in mind that all these items I listed are for just one window that stops working, imagine all the other items that could be involved if the dash lights go out at the same time or the air bag light comes on at the same time. Now any module or item and wiring for those systems need to be taken into account. Loose one 5volt refrence voltage and dozens of items stop responding or respond inacurately but only one item is actually taking that 5volts reference out of the picture.