Not Exactly

by Hforman - 2/27/13 9:27 PM

In Reply to: VERY interesting post! by Call_Me

I'm a contractor so I don't get anything. They gave me a desktop as others have but that is it. I have my own Netbook (old Acer) but that is mine but to use it, I still have to abide by the rules (most don't think they have to unless they get caught.

I work for a very LARGE county government (well over 100,000 employees). Has not much to do with "free-thinkers". It has more to do with getting anyone to operate in a "timely" manner. We still have not completely implemented suggestions from over 10 years ago (they claim it is "only" two years). Things we need right now or yesterday will probably take years.

The big issue is that any time we have even the smallest breach in security, the employees involved just shrug their shoulders and nothing much changes and those responsible are never held accountable. But every little breach means big write-ups in national newspapers. We are intrusted with contituent information and only now do some realize that the government has to provide credit-watch service and many argue against even that.

In my area, there is a federal requirement that everything we work on has to be CJIS-compliant (feds set up the criteria for security) and HIPAA-compliant (FEDS set up security for patient records). So what does this mean to tablets?

1. You can't put any data on a tablet. None. If it is a laptop, the entire hard drive (so far) has to be encrypted. This technically applies to consultants as well. If you lose a device and don't report it, you could even face criminal prosecution.