Use Auto Update or Manually Go to the Web Site

Every day e-mail "sender" information is spoofed by unscrupulous characters in order to make their e-mail message look legitimate; and the links contained in them look as though they are coming from a reputable company when, in fact, it could take you to an attack site or launch a virus, Trojan, or Worm is installed and launched on the victim's computer. Just because it looks legit doesn't mean that it is.

These days there is absolutely no reason to click on a link contained in an e-mail message in order to update your software. Instead, launch the program in question, find the "Update" command found in the Tools>Preferences or the About menu in your software's tool bar and let the software update itself. If there is an update available, the software program will download and install it for you. If you don't want to be bothered with going through the manual process, simply enable "Automatic Updates" for that software program before you click the "Update" or "Update now" option.

Alternately, go to the Web site for the software in question by manually typing in the software developer's Web address (do not copy and paste, and do not copy the address given in the e-mail. Instead, Google it if you don't know it) into your browser's address bar and go directly to the developer's Web site. Then look for updates for the software program in question.. If software updates are available, either download the update(s) and install them manually or update the program directly from the developer's site.

Blindly clicking a link in an e-mail, even one that looks legitimate, is a disaster waiting to happen and a risk that is unnecessary.

Any e-mail that claims to have a link to an update for any software program should immediately be regarded as suspicious and approached with caution. You're better off NEVER clicking an "update" link in any e-mail.