This has nothing to do with that function.

by mrmacfixit Moderator - 12/23/12 6:48 AM

In Reply to: it's a missleading error by Apple by gubatron

If that setting is turned on, then you will get a warning stating that the download "may not be safe" and that you can turn the warning off if you want to.
There is also a button which allows you to install the downloaded software anyway.

The message never tells you that the app is damaged or that it cannot be opened.

P