When you download to WLM, you delete from server

You downloaded your email to WLM which removed them from the Hotmail server and put them on your computer. If you want future emails to be in both places, you need to go into the WLM setup and set it to leave your email on the server for a given no. of days. I leave mine for 30 days.

Good luck.