Had to think about this awhile...

More recent Sony Walkman devices nowadays have dropped the SonicStage software and use another device management package called Media Manager. It's supposed to be more user friendly than SonicStage was, but since I've no tangible experience with the earlier app I can't attest to this claim (other than to say that I didn't like SonicStage at all).

It appears that you strongly care about the audio quality output. If the Sony experience has been quite rewarding aside from the file management issues, I would suggest that you consider the Sony X-series device. It's been argued by many to be one of the best sounding devices around, has an extremely good user interface, allows for considerable sonic customization, and can even be managed using third-party applications like MediaMonkey (my manager of choice) or Windows Media Player 11, or even Windows File Manager (with a slight change to how the device is seen by your computer).

I've never used Media Manager as a CD ripper, so I can't comment on its capabilities. Fact is I've only used Media Manager to (frustratingly) get video on my Sony devices. Sony could use some lessons on building a solid, easy-to-use app in this instance, but overall Media Manager doesn't SEEM that bad, but then again I've only rarely used it to manage my own Sony devices, opting instead to use 3rd-party applications. That said, I have found that it isn't the best app for managing your library contents (like file naming and song tag information). And I'm not sure it can create song files like you desire (elimination of individual track breaks).

With regards to your laundry list of wants:

- I'm not sure what you mean by 'rip these CDs as albums'. On a computer, it's the artist + album title metadata that usually signifies the relationship of songs to a specific 'album' and determines the storage of the songs on the computer within a specific folder.