Car Tech forum: JEEP... SENSORS and PCMs FIXES FOUND

by: Cat5 Cane March 19, 2009 7:43 AM PDT

Like this

0 people like this thread

Staff pick

JEEP... SENSORS and PCMs FIXES FOUND

by Cat5 Cane - 3/19/09 7:43 AM

A COMPOSIT OF POSTS REGARDING SENSORS and PCMs FIXES FOUND.

Strange... check your sensors
by Cat5 Cane - 2/16/09 6:47 AM In reply to: Very strange. by tintinuae
Yours sounds like it is more of an electrical/transmission (sensor) failure, then an engine failure (but the coil and plugs or injectors could come into play)... throw in a heavy dose of Lucas gas treatment to clean injectors.

I'm not a mechanic but have been here, it seems forever...

First Check diagnostics codes before disconnecting battery... then disconnect the PCM plugs (remember the order), clean the tips with CRC electronic cleaner, let set for 2 hours, then reattach the PCM plugs, then the battery... thinking it should erase the codes and car might work properly for a short time until the computer resets to the information from the sensors, if bad... it will go back to screwing up after one hour to a weeks time.

two sensors come into play... Camshaft position sensor and the crankshaft position sensor. I went on line to auto zone directory...
http://www.autozone.com/az/cds/en_us/0900823d/80/04/ac/f1/0900823d8004acf1/repairInfoPages.htm

Crankshaft Position Sensor Operation:
A magnetic or hall effect sensor that provides the computer with the engine speed and crankshaft position so proper injector sequence and ignition spark can be determined. It allows the ECC or PCM (engine control computer) to change injector openings as the engine RPM changes. It also signals the coil packs to fire the spark plugs.

Camshaft Position Sensor Operation: