MP3 players forum: Buying my first MP3 player, advice needed!

by: Lee Koo (ADMIN) November 19, 2007 6:18 AM PST

Like this

0 people like this thread

Staff pick

Buying my first MP3 player, advice needed!

by Lee Koo (ADMIN) ModeratorCNET staff - 11/19/07 6:18 AM

Question:

I never thought in my wildest dreams, I would be considering
a MP3 player for myself, but here I am asking for advice on
one. Every where I go, I can't help but see ads for the iPods
and I'm very curious if this is the right MP3 player for me.
I don't want to buy an iPod just because it is the trend as I
want to buy something that will last me in the long run. Is
the iPod really that popular that it is a must buy? Forgive me, as I'm completely new to this type of gadget and I want
something simple to use and has low learning curve. Can you
suggest a MP3 player that will be small enough for me to
carry when I go for my daily walks? I also would like
something with a screen that will allow me to store pictures
of my kids, and one that has enough storage space for my
entire Beatles and Elvis CD collections. What are some things
that are a must to look for in a MP3 player and of course
what are things I should avoid or be aware of when I buy a
MP3 player? Any advice and recommendation will be helpful.
Thank you.

Submitted by: Nancy S.

Answer voted most helpful by the CNET Community newsletter readers:

Selecting a MP3 Player

Nancy,

Selecting a MP3 player can be a daunting task in today's market. The choices are staggering and it can lead to quite a bit of mental overload as one tries to wade through the myriad of options. I myself have been through the process of purchasing a MP3 player three times in the past three years and hope that some of my experiences will help you.