Storage forum: What's your take on online backup services?

by: Lee Koo (ADMIN) February 5, 2010 1:38 PM PST

Like this

0 people like this thread

Staff pick

What's your take on online backup services?

by Lee Koo (ADMIN) ModeratorCNET staff - 2/5/10 1:38 PM

Question:

What's your take on online backup services?

I truly enjoy the Friday afternoon (well, evening in my part of the country) newsletters. I seem to learn tons and tons about things that I never knew I wanted (or needed) to know! So many times I archive the questions because I know that Ill need to know that soon, or I had that exact same question before-and probably will again. Or, more often than not, the question is timely for my own issues, and I get to try out the suggestions right away. This is an AMAZING group!

I have never written before, but I want to get the group's collective wisdom on online backup services (Carbonite.com just to use an example). I have had two fatal hard-drive failures in the last year. While I use an external hard-drive to back up data (most of the time), I am starting to really think about using an online backup service. That said, I am trying to understand the various services that these companies offer versus the costs (I am concerned about cost-an external hard drive is relatively cheap, so Im not going to pay a small fortune for online services). I am not a large corporation looking for mega-service. I am a sole proprietor, and Im looking for a safe place for my 500GB of data (actually, well under that amount, but it could grow to that amount) that resides on one computer (Windows) and one external hard-drive.

So, I am looking to all of you to help me better understand the following: