Desktops forum: need help with pc that wont power up

by: marc404 January 30, 2013 8:54 PM PST

Like this

0 people like this thread

Staff pick

Resolved question

need help with pc that wont power up

by marc404 - 1/30/13 8:54 PM

Hi all... I have had an issue with my desktop for the last 7-8 months... Its driving me nuts and costing me money... Ive been building pcs for several years and never came across this issue ever... Heres whats happening:

My pc normally works fine... But for some random reason, (sometimes) when i shut the pc down, it will not power up again... (everytime) i shut the pc down and switch off at the mains it will not power back on...

Now.. The first time this happened i checked everything and rushed out and bought a new psu thinking the one installed had died.. On fitting the new psu the pc would not power on... I went through lengthy trouble shooting and could not find a solution... So i took the desktop to my local repair shop they diagnosed it as a dead motherboard...

The motherboard was only a couple of months old so i took the board back to the shop i bought it from looking for a replacement and explained my issue and diagnosis from my loca technician.. Staff in the shop i bought it from plugged it into a test set up and it powered up... Redfaced i left the shop with the board... Plugged it back into my desktop... And it wouldnt power up... I phoned the shop... They said bring the whole desktop in... I brought it in and said they would call me... They called me ten minutes later saying that the pc powered up no problem after i left the shop... Redfaced again but happy happy i went home.. Plugged in and the pc did power up lol...