error deleting file or folder. It is being used by another..
by Tasuki - 12/23/07 8:22 PM
I get this blasted message all the time:
"Error deleting file or folder
Cannot delete [name of folder]: It is being used by another person or program. Close any programs that might be using the file and try again."
Example: I copied a folder with some pictures in it from my C: drive (desktop) to my D: drive. Now, I try to delete the folder from the desktop and I get the above error message. I had viewed a few of the pictures, and deleted one that I didn't want to save, but when I went to try to delete the folder, there were no programs open that were using or viewing the pictures. I did ctrl-alt-del and looked under "applications" to verify that no programs were running. If I restart the computer, I know from experience that I can then delete the folder, but why on earth does Windows XP think that the folder or its contents are being used? Is there some setting I can modify so that I can delete files and folders without rebooting? Curiously, this doesn't happen all the time. Many times I can delete a file or folder, but this happens enough so that I got bugged enough to ask this forum. Thanks in advance. Taz