Archive and Install
by mrmacfixit - 1/3/06 6:33 AM
In Reply to: Many thanks by tasman254
When you start the install process for Panther,or any other Cat, you will find that the default option for the installation is Archive and Install.
This method takes all your personal data, your user folder, along with any other settings your have changed, network for example, and puts them in a safe place. It then installs a brand new system on to the HD. On completion of the install, it goes off and retrieves your old data and puts it in the correct, user, folder and then puts all the settings back to what you had them at. You end up with two System folders and the one marked "Old", or similar, can be deleted.
It's rather like a Clean Install on OS 9 and below.
Was this reply helpful? (0) (0)