Windows 8 forum: Does Windows 8 offer any improvements in usability or efficiency over 7?

by: Lee Koo (ADMIN) November 2, 2012 5:19 PM PDT

Like this

13 people like this thread

Staff pick

Does Windows 8 offer any improvements in usability or efficiency over 7?

by Lee Koo (ADMIN) ModeratorCNET staff - 11/2/12 5:19 PM

Does Windows 8 offer any improvements in usability or efficiency over 7?

This is a question for the community about the new Windows 8. I am a computer professional dating back to the olden days when you programmed them by positioning eight switches and then hitting "commit" to write a single byte. My native OS was Multics, the forerunner of Unix. I have obviously seen many changes over the years, but since the introduction of the consumer PC, I am not sure any have been quite the magnitude of change that Windows 8 represents, at least not as rapidly.

I already bought a copy of Windows 8 Pro but I am hesitant to install it on my Windows 7 Pro desktop. Previous versions of Windows were optimized for the desktop and mouse, which I use exclusively (even on my laptops I use a mouse, never having grown comfortable with the touchpad or joystick). I have an Android smartphone, which I love, but I have no desire to use a touch screen on my desktop or laptop, and indeed I try very hard to keep their monitors free from fingerprints.