The Mac Lounge forum: Don't allow such changes to come to versiontracker.com

by: Andrew Jung-100000000000000000000000000037945 September 4, 2009 10:51 AM PDT

Like this

0 people like this thread

Staff pick

Don't allow such changes to come to versiontracker.com

Hello, just a note to say that I was less than impressed with the changes that happened at MacFixIt.com and the forums. If versiontracker is merged into download.com or something of the sort, I will be furious and I will be down one more of my daily web sites that I visit.

So far, as I expected, I am less than impressed on what has happened with the versiontracker network of sites since the purchase. I wish you were purchased by someone that actually cares about these sites and not just wanting to catch the Mac bandwagon.

Sigh anyhow, MacFixIt is now off my list. As an Information Architect, I am totally put off by how much of a downgrade this move has been. Resources like this should be all about Findability, Usability, Accessibility and most importantly, Consistency.

When you have a site that is as established as MacFixIt, you want to provide pathways and a schema to make a site as familiar to your user base as possible. There was a reason why users preferred MacFixIt over the cnet Mac Forums. MacFixIt had something that the Mac Forums didn't. To suddenly drop the forums and expect your user base to accept what is considered an inferior site in organization, structure and design only serves to compound the other thing that cnet Mac Forums is missing that being the users and MacFixIt Forum's most powerful resource, the long-time contributors.

What should have happened was a slow migration with the active participation and feedback of your user base to make this into what was great about MacFixIt forums and to bring familiarity to those that used it regularly. Not an NDA and a sudden announcement.