Miscellaneous laptop discussions forum: Laptop ultrabook or any lightweight laptop - advice needed?

by: rishijd March 17, 2012 2:53 AM PDT

Like this

0 people like this thread

Staff pick

Laptop ultrabook or any lightweight laptop - advice needed?

by rishijd - 3/17/12 2:53 AM

I want to buy a laptop, but I'm very confused! I'm a web developer, and I use my PC for: - email (Thunderbird), lots of browsing, FTP, Firefox/Firebug plus several other browsers for browser testing, Photoshop, Windows 7 and Microsoft Office.

I've been really tempted by the lightweight models such as Asus UX31. The Toshiba models are more expensive but also look good:

Asus UX31 - all in all this seems great, higher resolution, the the big flaw that CNET reports is the keyboard/trackpad not being very usable/comfortable over a long period of usage (i.e. hours). Has this been fixed or is this still an issue? (I seem to find reviews only from 2011 but the models continue to sell as the top choices today).

Toshiba Z830 (1.1kg) - core i5 1.6Ghz, 128Gb SSD hard drive, 6gB RAM, Win 7 Professional, free external DVD drive.

and a higher spec, heavier but still lightweight model: Toshiba R830 (1.4kg) - core i5 2.5Ghz, 500Gb SATA hard drive, 8Gb RAM, Win 7 Professional, dvd drive internal - I read some random reviews on this and it seems good, but some say that they can get much cheaper brands for the same spec, but at a slightly heavier build around 2kg. Also I read that the battery life is not so good, not sure if that's correct.