Deceptive ad on Avast download page
by JOHNLIONHEART - 3/26/12 11:53 PM
I went to download avast anti-virus, was duped into clicking on a link that looked like part of the cnet / avast page - said "3 steps for faster download" and button "Start Download" - but quickly routed to systweak.com and "RegClean Pro" and downloaded and tried to run but it said I needed a key, and paid $29 for the key, which was emailed, but ran the RCP again and no way to input key, so called the 888303-3189 number for support and a fast talking fella had me type in "AMMYY.com" into my browser bar and before I knew he had remote control of my computer and had opened my "Event" log and showed me thousands of logged "errors" and alert and one "critcal" he pointed out and told me my computer had been hacked and was in danger of crashing... I think he was headed toward rushing me into an expensive upgrade, but I finally got suspicious and hung up. I called another 800 number on the systweak site and got the same guy or his brother and asked him where systweak was located - he told me Washington State somewhere he didn't know. I hung up and pulled the internet cable out of the router. Then took and hour and examined the event log. It didn't look like I had really been hacked. Any way I plugged back up and took some screen shots to show you and here's five:
http://ipoet.com/untitled.jpg
http://ipoet.com/untitled2.jpg
http://ipoet.com/untitled3.jpg
http://ipoet.com/untitled4.jpg
http://ipoet.com/untitled5.jpg

Moderator
CNET Staff
Samsung Staff
Dell Staff