by: leygia May 2, 2013 10:57 AM PDT

Like this

0 people like this thread

Staff pick

Resolved question

Buying new Sony laptop - would love your advice

by leygia - 5/2/13 10:57 AM

Hi,

I apologize in advance for the long post, but I'm obviously a tad retentive about getting this right - I'll be staring at this laptop for 5 years!!

I'm purchasing a new Sony laptop and am ready to knock my head against a wall. I need to actually make a decision and would soooo love some advice from a Sony expert, so would really appreciate any help you can offer.

Further down is some basic info of my needs, but here's some general background:

1) I'm replacing my beloved 13" vgn-z820 that died. However, this is my first time buying a computer as the vgn was a gift (pretty cool, eh?) Fortunately it had the grace to pass on right before the extended warranty ended, so Microcenter gave me a $1550 in-store only gift card - it needs to cover both the computer and extended warranty.

2) Microcenter is clearing out their current stock of Sony, but don't yet have the new stuff. Oddly, no one seems to know when they'll stock the new models or what they'll be. So.....

3) My best options appear to be:

1.SVZ1311AFXX: Sony VAIO SVZ1311AFXX 13.1" Laptop Computer - Carbon Fiber Black SVZ1311AFXX - Micro Center
i5 3210m, 8G/8G ram, 128 SSD, 1920x1600, Intel HD 4000 6.5 hr battery
orig $1599. Only option is open box: $950-$1232 depending on warranty balance (probably 3-76months)

2. SVS13A25PBX: Sony VAIO SVS13A25PXB 13.3" Laptop Computer - Carbon Fiber Black SVS13A25PXB - Micro Center
i7 3520 4G cache, 12G/12G ram, 256 SSD, 1600x900, NVIDIA GeForce GT 640M LE with 2G mem, 4.5 hr battery
orig $1699, only option open box: $1274 (5-6 months warranty)

3. SVS13A18GXB: Sony VAIO SVS13A18GXB 13.3" Laptop Computer - Carbon Fiber Black SVS13A18GXB - Micro Center
i7 3520, 8G/12G ram, 1600x900, 640G 7200 rpm, NVIDIA GeForce GT 640M LE with 1G mem, 7 hr battery
orig $1549 available new $1016