BDP S580 Frustration

by mcsteve2012 - 3/26/12 5:59 PM

So I purchased this player last fall based on 2 things: it had built in wireless and the box claimed compatible with Netflix. After a very frustrating 2 hour setup (I had to setup a second router as an access point in my basement directly under the player) I finally was able to get this thing live. The system is neither reliable or stable but it did work most days.

About 2 weeks ago my daughter call me while I was on a road trip. She said Netflix had disappeared from the Sony's menu. I finally got around to checking it out yesterday and it was indeed gone with several new internet video apps in its place. Be aware that Netflix was working just fine for several months up to this point and I have a valid subscription that is not maxed out on devices. Since day 1 the player has has access to the internet and has received several updates without issue.

I started my quest with the online chat through Sony.com. after about 25 minutes of resetting this and factory default that I was told to call tech support at 239-768-7547 so I did. Let me say I started this at 5:12pm according to the chat log. It was 5:36 when I placed the call.

After running through several more resets, factory defaults, verifying internet connections and switching to a hard wired connection directly to my router, the call was escalated to Bill. Bill ran me through many of the same things I had previously done but then asked me to verify my IP through a web site that showed my location as Lorado, TX. He then checked his system and it showed me as being in the UK. I live outside Toronto Canada. You know, that country just to the north of the US. He escalated me to another rep (Dave I think, I didn't right his name down).

Dave took my MAC address and then did some more checking. Guess what, Sony thanks Canada is in the UK so the last software update took my Netflix away and replaced it with European content.