Tablets forum: Looking for a tablet to fit certain criteria, suggestions?

by: Kittd101 July 18, 2012 9:49 AM PDT

Like this

0 people like this thread

Staff pick

Resolved question

Looking for a tablet to fit certain criteria, suggestions?

by Kittd101 - 7/18/12 9:49 AM

In the process of buying an inexpensive but efficient tablet, any suggestions?
Alright. I'm a young college student and I am looking for something to use that I could take in place of my laptop to some of my classes. I have a few features that I feel I need to have in order to make my college classes easier. I also enjoy writing and am going to be majoring in English and creative writing. I want something that I can write on and it will turn into a typed up document (I prefer hand writing my stories and it takes me a many long, boring hours of typing on my computer to get it printed in a word document).

I want a tablet that:
- is not a laptop or notebook with a pivot screen (I want a completely separate tablet. I have a laptop that works perfectly well and does not need replacing. I just want something small as well).
- is able to open word documents (and powerpoints if possible) and write on them.
- can go onto the Internet (wifi)
- allows me to write or praw on pictures (not a must, just a want).
- can download e-books for my college textbooks.
- (if it can download e-books) is able to write and annotate e-books.
- has hand writing recognition that will turn it into typed up documents.
- will connect to my computer and allow me to transfer any documents I worked on that day.
- has at least a 4 hour battery life (has to last the full class and a little while afterwards for homework.
- and, most importantly, costs $600 dollars or less. (I work at a QSR and make minimum wage. This is all I have managed to save up to buy myself a tablet.