WebBrowserPassView
by sbme - 11/28/12 6:48 PM
This software offered by CNET Downloads is supposed to find passwords retained by and in my browsers. However, the only comment from a user claims it's avirus. So, I googled "WebBrowserPassView - Virus"
and I found both pro and con -
WebBrowserPassView v1.10
forum.raymond. Spyware/Viruses Security Bulletin
Apr 20, 2011 - False Virus/Trojan Warning WebBrowserPassView is
a tool that retrieves secret passwords stored in your system, and thus your Antivirus may
False Virus/Trojan WarningWebBrowserPassView is a tool that retrieves secret passwords stored in your system, and thus your Antivirus may falsely detect this.
http://forum.raymond.cc/security-bulletin/27659-webbrowserpassview-v1-10-a.html
What is webbrowserpassview.exe? WebBrowserPassView.exe
Vendor: NirSoft
Product: WebBrowserPassView
PC Pitstop has analyzed this process and determined that there is a high likelihood that it is bad.
PC Pitstop Analysis
Purpose: WebBrowserPassView.exe
webbrowserpassview.exe is a VIRUS. Stop all work until the virus is removed or you run the risk of spreading the virus to other people. Worse yet, the virus may be doing harm to your computer and your information.
PC Pitstop recommends WinPatrol Plus for monitoring all of the background activity on your PC. WinPatrol Plus provides an easy to understand descriptions of over 15,000 processes and programs.
ool is infected with Trojan/Virus. Click here to read more about false alerts in Antivirus programs.
http://www.pcpitstop.com/libraries/process/i/WebBrowserPassView.exe.html
From the developer, Nir-Soft's own site offers the explanation:
""False Positive" Issues
As my Web site became more popular, a very annoying problem started to appear frequently: "False Positive" alerts in AntiVirus software. This means that AntiVirus/AntiSpyware programs detect my utilities as infected with Virus/Trojan/Spyware while my utilities are clean from any malicious code. Each time that a popular AntiVirus software begins to detect one of my utilities as Virus or Trojan, my email is flooded with messages from worried people that think my Web site is infected with Viruses. Some of them even blame me that I spread Viruses through my Web site. But the truth is that I have never had any Virus/Trojan/Spyware in my tools. All the alerts and warnings displayed by the AntiVirus programs regarding my utilities are simply wrong, and cause a widespread panic without a reason.
Due to the large amount of "False Positive" alerts, I created a special Web page that displays the major "False Positive" problems with NirSoft utilities: False Positive Reports
This Web page is also message to all Antivirus companies that they must improve the quality and the reliability of their Virus detection mechanism. "
http://www.nirsoft.net/about_nirsoft_freeware.html
(And he offers an impressive amount of documentation )
So, please answer this:
If the product is not a virus - why is the user's comment still posted at the CNET download area -- And if it is a virus why is it still avalable to be downloaded there?
For many years I have learned from ZDNet and trusted CNET as one of the only providers of downloads I use and reccommend to my clients and students. As technician and a trainer - I've often reccommended your pages - but this issue does cause me some concern.
Thanks
Sandra B

Moderator
CNET Staff
Samsung Staff
Dell Staff