Community Newsletter: Q&A forum: Need help with camcorder buying decisions

by: Lee Koo (ADMIN) March 2, 2007 3:12 AM PST

Like this

0 people like this thread

Staff pick

Need help with camcorder buying decisions

by Lee Koo (ADMIN) ModeratorCNET staff - 3/2/07 3:12 AM

Question

My digital tape camcorder broke months ago and Im so confused about replacing it. Is it a mistake to buy HD tape when they are so expensive now. Will mini tapes disappear in the next few years? I understand the quality and ability to edit is best using tapes or am I wrong. Im not interested in a hard drive camcorder. Would you recommend DVD or tape camcorder? What are the pros and cons of both? Please help me. Thank you!

--Submitted by Carol L.

Answer voted most helpful by our members:

Carole, I ran into the same question you have about 7 months ago. I am no professional but I take a lot of video that I take home and edit with some fun editing programs, which I then save or burn into dvds to share with friends and family. My camcorder broke down as well so I did a lot of research but could not get the definite answer I was looking for until I ran into a professional who was hired to film my daughters game. I quickly went over to him while he was setting up to pick his brain. I checked out his mini DV $3800 professional camcorder and asked him his opinion of DVD, HD, HiDEF HD and mini DV. He told me if you like editing and creating your own style then he would go Mini DV which was the best camcorder for doing this. He told me the Hard drive cam compresses the video which takes away some when editing. The High def hard drive camcorder, he said he was going to stay away from because you have to make sure you have Hi def editing program along with Hi def burner, high def player, and high def TV to get the high definition. If your not into editing at all and want to keep it simple then go DVD Cam which will burn it right to a disk for you. The negatives in this is what you record you burn s