I just realized what a complete rip off SiteMaker Pro supposed software is. You pay $50.00 for a disk that all it does is connect to their website, only to be told it's a temporary trial and you have to pay a monthly fee in order to actually use anything. I do not take lightly being ripped off. I am contacting every site that evaluates software and will continue posting warnings about thier misleading marketing practices. It's only if you look at the fine print (the smalles print on the box) on the bottom flap of the box that you find out you are really not buying software at all. This is one of the worst examples of misleading marketing I have seen and will do everything possible to cost them as many potential customers as possible. Would appreciate feedback on anyone experiencing the same fraud.
http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/B00030IEKA/bookishhat-20/102-7521111-2945709?dev-t=D1JICV4833M1O5%26camp=2025%26link_code=sp1
No one has reviewed this product. If I were you, its time to ask for a full refund. If bought with a credit card, call them and tell them that it was not the product you asked for and you want to return it to the vendor and you want the money...
You get the idea.
Rattle the right cages.
Bob
I was taken today by there false and misleading advertising.
I am going to return the Software over the weekend.
Definitely recommend that User DO NOT BUY THIS SOFTWARE due to the fine print. You shouldn't have to be a lawyer to buy software.
Federal Trade Commission needs to be notified.
Make a stink! Make a stink!
There are too many good open source free programs out there to be ripped off like that.
Make a stink!
Can you name a few? I have tried three. I know sitemaker pro is not free but it is the most useful and effortless software I have used???
Dana
For one thing, you should have gone to their website to check out the Faqs. Secondly, you should have read the package a little better. They are a website service and not just another wysiwyg editor, not my cup of tea but hey, some people need to have their hands held. The Faq on their website spells it all out. Next time, do your research before you buy, you wouldn't buy a car without taking it for a test drive would you? Maybe then you won't be so suprised by the outcome.
I think the point he was making was that the "small print" was not clear.
How many times have you purchased something and not read the small, (I mean, the very small), print on the box?
You mention the FAQ at their web site. Presumably then their main page does not mention this small "condition" of use of their product? Why would they not mention that? Why hide it away where people have to go digging deep for something they do not even know is relevant?
Marketing like this is unsatisfactory and the manufacturers/suppliers should be told.
Mark
I just did a web search because I was in my local Frye's electronics. Don't blame the customer. The box says it is a WYSIWYG website editos. The fine print says it is like 2 months free hosting. Evidently, it is 100% rip-off. I read the entire box, and there is nothing on there that says there is no web design software. This is REPREHENSIBLE behavior! I would encourage call to your State's Atttorney General as well as the local Better Business Bureau.
I have used V-Com and CoffeeeCup editors. Coffeecup is easy to use but very basisc--V-Com puts an advertisement for V-Com on your web page whether you want it or not. I want something better. This aint it.
No WYSIWYG editor is error-free, nor will any do EVERYthing you might want to do. And, all of them will, at some point in time, create an error or something that you will want to change. You should have a good, basic knowledge of HTML before using any software for coding webpages. Otherwise, you are just at the mercy of the software and it's limitations. I would suggest you check out http://www.htmlgoodies.com for some assistance. Learning some basic HTML is not that difficult, and taking the easy way out by relying on editing software entirely will ultimately cause you problems.
SiteMaker should have clearly specified that it's only a website service. They mis-direct customers into thinking that its a frontpage like website creation tool while its stands no where comparing to the features offered by even freely available tools. On the package they clearly compare themselves with Microsoft frontpage luring many people into buying it. This is clearly a marketing gimmick and a ripoff. My only advice is don't buy this product thinking of it as a one time investment.
Here is the deal with SiteMaker. It is not meant to be misleading, it is meant to be simple.
There are thousands of happy customers who have beautiful, professional looking sites up that have no idea how many steps were eliminated in the site building process. There is no need to download programs, no need to buy or secure a site address, no need to deal with finding hosting or FTP access because it is all included.
SiteMaker’s online format lets you access the huge content libraries from any Internet connection, AND the changes are published online immediately.
SiteMaker Pro sites include 100MB of storage and can handle about 2000 concurrent connections. PayPal shopping cart integration and membership settings included.
The only un-happy customers I encounter as the SiteMaker Customer Service manager are people who are computer literate, that don’t take the time to read the box.
The product may not be for everybody, but to say it is a rip-off is not fair to the thousands of SiteMaker customers who have a site online and only know that “FTP” is a florist.
From the information given, this is shady, at best. If I pay $50 for software, my expectation would be to get that software. I normally check out a product (including user opinions) before buying. That said, I also have the expectation that any legitimate company will give me ALL pertinent information up front. Users opinion on a product is much different than the fact that I am not getting what I actually thought I was buying. Having to dig through FAQs or read exceptionally small print on a box(which may not even be possible if buying online) is DECEPTIVE, no matter how you try to explain it away.
Calling anyone that gets taken(and doesn't like it) illiterate(you misspelled that, by the way) is a good tip-off that this is not a real surprise. chuck
If you read my original post, I did not call anyone "illiterate", I wrote "people who are computer literate".
Maybe you should re-read it. Both my original assessment
and statement are correct. The tactics sound shady, and your statement either mis-spells illiterate, or says only
computer illiterates are happy with your product. chuck
Actually this was copied and pasted directly from the post - "people who are computer literate".
But I must agree that I should not have to read every word on the box with a magnifing glass to find out I am not getting what it says on the front of the box in big bold print.
John- If you are so proud of your service, put it in big bold print right below the title on the box, so no one gets the mistaken impression that they are buying something they are not.
Hey is it really $50.00 for a "trial" ??
Every "trial" I have ever heard of was FREE!!
Maybe it was $2.99 at the store to help pay for the box. (CD itself cost less than a quarter).
CAVEAT:
I don't usually purchase software until I know I am not buying junk.
Do your homework, you are at a good site for reviews, however this is only one of many places to get reliable info.
Do a google search, if the software is very good, or very bad, you will find websites devoted to it!
| Forum legend: | |
| Locked thread | |
| Moderator | |
![]() |
CNET staff |
![]() |
Samsung staff |
| Norton Authorized Support team | |
| AVG staff | |
| Windows Outreach team | |
![]() |
Dell staff |
| Intel staff | |