McAfee SiteAdvisor has found "Exploit-ObscuredHtml trojan" in the download file for Advanceed System Care (asc-setup.exe). I almost downloaded it before I knew anything about this, and the only reason why I became aware of the Trojan is because when I went to IOBit's website, the SiteAdvisor out of nowhere flashed red.
IOBit also has just been accused of stealing MalwareBytes database for another program they have.
It seems as of now IOBit is very unsafe to download from. Shouldn't CNET do something about this since they advertise how safe their site's downloads are? Is their staff aware of this threat?
Downloads.com are aware of problems
Discussed briefly here:
http://forums.cnet.com/5208-12543_102-0.html?threadID=366278&tag=forums06;forum-threads
I'm glad it's being reviewed. If one program they have has a trojan, and another program they have is made up of stolen data, then who knows about the other programs they have to download...
First, let's look at this McAfee trojan detection.
http://m8software.com/***/mcafee.htm
<snip>
To the best of our knowledge, there is no such thing as the "Exploit-Obscure.HTML" Trojan. McAfee have arbitrarily decided to delete any file they find containing both HTML and non ASCII characters just in case it might be a trojan.
<snip>
Hardly reason to ban Iobit from CNET
and connect this to MalwareByte's as yet unsubstantiated allegation.
Maybe wait and see what all the facts are
before we decide Iobit is the anti-Christ of software?
I just want CNET to review the program again, that's all.
And Malwarebytes' has a lot of proof for their case. I guess only time will tell...
And though this might make me considered a hypocrite, I love their software Smart Defrag. I don't want the negative rumors of IOBit to be true either.
| Forum legend: | |
| Locked thread | |
| Moderator | |
![]() |
CNET staff |
![]() |
Samsung staff |
| Norton Authorized Support team | |
| AVG staff | |
| Windows Outreach team | |
![]() |
Dell staff |
| Intel staff | |