I'm in the market to update some of my software. I found a discount software supplier called "OEM Downloads, Inc" from my search results. They have at least 4 different web sites and I found about 100 different links to them from various sources, including university sites. My question: Has anyone done business with them and if so what was your shopping experience with them? I have tried to search for information about them, but all I can get from my searchs are more links to their sites.
There is no OEM download of say "Windows XP" so any such thing would be you handing money to a thief or "your credit card." Would you trust a thief with your CC?
Bob
Thanks for your reply. I am very familiar with Microsoft policies. I'm looking for some non-OS application software. I came across this company while researching prices. I would still like to hear from anyone who has had any experience with "OEM Downlods, Inc". Some of their more common URLs are: oemsoftwaredownloads.us, oemgoogle.com, oemportal.com, and oemsoftwareonline.us.
The item "Codegear" from Embarcadero is ALL TOO EASY to check out if it's legitimate. Over at http://www.codegear.com/about/contact is the 1-800 number which you can call up and see why a over 4000 buck software is 200 bucks at your noted site.
Remember if they are thieves you have to consider that giving them your CC number is "a bad idea."
Bob
Hey jgr19702...did you end up buying from OEM Downloads Inc.? Do you know anyone who has? The website is so poorly worded it's hard to imagine it's not a scam.
I would love to year from someone!
The "over 4000 buck software is 200 bucks" was a true tipoff. And if anyone wanted to check it out, it would be all too easy.
Did you check it out?
What did you find?
Proof either way?
"Over at http://www.codegear.com/about/contact is the 1-800 number which you can call up and see why a over 4000 buck software is 200 bucks"
I have no reason to invest the time on such a call as the signs that there is something wrong is in plain site. If people get ripped off it must be because they won't protect themselves and expected others to do that.
Bob
Here is what my research uncovered:
1.OEM Downloads, Inc is an offshore business, hence the broken english.
2.Even though OEM Downloads, Inc claims to have been in business since 2003, ALL of the registered domain names for its web sites that I found were created in May, 2009.
3.The BBB has no record of this business or any of its web sites that I tested, probably because they are too new.
4. Some of the web sites claim to be certified by VeriSign. However, when I checked the VeriSign web site they had no record of OEM Downloads, Inc or any of their web sites. Some of the sites even claim to be certified by Microsoft and C|Net as well.
These web sites are all professional looking and very tempting, but don't be fooled. Go to the "About Us" page. If the site is owned and operated by "OEM Downloads, Inc", based on my research, I suggest leaving this site without making a purchase.
There site appears to be real, also you have certain rights and protection from your credit card company.
CALL CENTER +1 877 778 3347 (US./CANADA/TOLL FREE)from older address. Forwarding service, not working, using only e-mail now. They have answered all my e-mail questions so far.
There site goes back to 1998.
Copyright (c) 2006-2009 OEM Downloads Inc
http://www.users-help.com/
Site http://www.users-help.com Last reboot unknown Uptime graph
Domain users-help.com Netblock owner TM NET SDN BHD
IP address 112.137.162.78 Site rank unknown
Country MY Nameserver ns1.dns4soft.com
Date first seen July 2009 DNS admin admin@dns4soft.com
Domain Registry unknown Reverse DNS unknown
Organisation unknown Nameserver Organisation unknown
-----
http://oem-box.com/
Site http://oem-box.com Last reboot unknown Uptime graph
Domain oem-box.com Netblock owner TM NET SDN BHD
IP address 112.137.162.78 Site rank 470553
Country MY Nameserver ns1.dns4soft.com
Date first seen November 1998 DNS admin admin@dns4soft.com
Domain Registry unknown Reverse DNS unknown
Organisation unknown Nameserver Organisation unknown
I'll let you know what happens.
Never, ever approach a computer saying or even thinking "I will just do this quickly."
Nothing in your post improved this company's standing. In fact it looks worse!
I purchased Windows XP Pro 64-bit from OEM Downloads last night (July 20, 2009) and they emailed me a key and a temporary link to get the software. If I want to re-download it in the future, I have to submit a request. That seems legit to me.
Purchased through PayPal, and since I have purchased / sold items via PayPal many times, I know they have none of my personal info. Just the $70 that I graciously gave them so I did not (a) have to wait for a package (b) have to use the CD that I was given, I could use an image that I have made in the past and just purchased a key for the new PC I built.
Technically, if you read the fine print (EUA) you will see that you really are only responsible for the key once you purchase Windows (XP anyway, I dunno if they changed this for Vista / Win7). You are not prohibited from distributing their software as long as it is with the key you purchased from MS. That's why you can find "used" MS Windows on Amazon & Ebay. You're allowed to distribute the software someone purchased from you.
Anywho. My system runs freaking awesome now. I love 8Gb RAM! LOL, in a few years this post is gonna get laughed at -- watch.
The site I was on, easy-software-store.com, does NOT have an option for PayPal. Below is some discouraging public info about a couple of their domains...
Registrant:
Ivan I Ivanov +7.4294967295
N/A
Kashirskoe shosse, 1-23
Moskva,Moskva,RUSSIAN FEDERATION 101000
Domain Name:easy-software-store.com
Record last updated at 2009-05-28 11:39:03
Record created on 2009/5/22
Record expired on 2010/5/22
Domain servers in listed order:
ns1.dns4soft.com ns2.dns4soft.net
Administrator:
Kashirskoe shosse, 1-23
Moskva
Moskva,
RUSSIAN FEDERATION
101000
name:(Ivan I Ivanov)
mail:(testemail@mail.com) +7.4294967295
N/A
Technical Contactor:
Kashirskoe shosse, 1-23
Moskva
Moskva,
RUSSIAN FEDERATION
101000
name:(Ivan I Ivanov)
mail:(testemail@mail.com) +7.4294967295
N/A
Billing Contactor:
Kashirskoe shosse, 1-23
Moskva
Moskva,
RUSSIAN FEDERATION
101000
name:(Ivan I Ivanov)
mail:(testemail@mail.com) +7.4294967295
N/A
Registration Service Provider:
name: Serpino Berbeto
tel: +1.2128848801
fax: +1.2128848801
web:
Registration Service Provided By: DOMAIN NAMES REGISTRAR REG.RU LTD.
Contact: +7.4955801111
Domain Name: bbv-software.com
Expiry Date: 13-Jun-2010
Days Left for Expiry: 325
Record Creation Date: 13-Jun-2009
Domain Status: Active
Domain servers in listed order:
ns1.dns4soft.com
ns2.dns4soft.net
RegistrantContact Details
Name Vasiliy Tarasov
Company Private person
Email Address admin@wecanall.net
Address SHabolovka, 31 - 56
City Moskva
State/Region/Province Moskva
Zip 115162
Country RU
Tel No. +212.7550628
Fax No.+212.7550628
AdministrativeContactDetails
Name Vasiliy Tarasov
Company Private person
Email Address admin@wecanall.net
Address SHabolovka, 31 - 56
City Moskva
State/Region/Province Moskva
Zip 115162
Country RU
Tel No. +212.7550628
Fax No.+212.7550628
TechnicalContactDetails
Name Vasiliy Tarasov
Company Private person
Email Address admin@wecanall.net
Address SHabolovka, 31 - 56
City Moskva
State/Region/Province Moskva
Zip 115162
Country RU
Tel No. +212.7550628
Fax No.+212.7550628
BillingContactDetails
Name Vasiliy Tarasov
Company Private person
Email Address admin@wecanall.net
Address SHabolovka, 31 - 56
City Moskva
State/Region/Province Moskva
Zip 115162
Country RU
Tel No. +212.7550628
Fax No.+212.7550628
I'm surprised nobody has asked this yet. What is the domain name of the site you used to purchase your software with PayPal? I haven't been able to find it yet. I would also prefer to use the safety of this option.
So I downloaded Dreamweaver from these guys. The serial number was INVALID. I called my credit card company and they said that it would be no problem to charge my card back. I ping'd them and told them that they have 6 hours to resolve the problem.
I have ONE card that I only use for internet transactions and it's the only card where fraud protection calls me at least once a quarter. It's the price you pay when finding deals. LOL
| Forum legend: | |
| Locked thread | |
| Moderator | |
![]() |
CNET staff |
![]() |
Samsung staff |
| Norton Authorized Support team | |
| AVG staff | |
| Windows Outreach team | |
![]() |
Dell staff |
| Intel staff | |