Hi all,
Just wondering. .... Found it thru a Yahoo ad. Tried to register; then it said something like, "We already have an account for that email address." ... I asked it to send me my username and password. Got a bunch of numbers for the user name and a mixed string for a password.
Anyway, once logged on, it only knew the info. about me that it could have gathered from the initial "failed registration."
I don't remember setting up an account there and I didn't put in any more info.
Anyone care to try getting in w/ a disposable email address and a fake birthday; then see if it both has an account by that email address and "remembers" you once you login?
TIA.
It might be legitimate; I might have forgotten finding it before and am being too cautious.... It's just that there's a spot to change your username (only once) and I surely would have done that, rather than try to remember a numerical account name.....
Maybe "scam" is too harsh. Maybe just "faking" one into "re-joining" as a way of social-engineering you into joining their site.....
--tim in Houston.
I'm signed up for it, but I mainly use Classmates.com.
I received reunion.com solicitation emails from two of my friends recently. In each case, I received multiple "Facebook" type emails purporting to be from my friend and requesting I confirm that I knew that person. When you follow the links, you learn they've already gathered whatever info they can on you from public sources and put it into a searchable database. What they want you to do is to confirm and update the info. They will not remove your info under any circumstances, and you can only request it not be displayed if you sign up for their premium service. I didn't sign up.
To make things worse, when I called my friends to tell them I wasn't going to sign up, I learned that neither of them had either, but that Reunion.com, or someone spoofing as Reunion.com, had compromised their address books and had been sending out solicitation emails unbeknownst to them. I suspect that if you even open the email they've confirmed your email address as valid, and if you sign up and offer up details of your contact info you're hosed.
Birthdayalarm.com is a similar scam, also invading address books.
There are reports that if you sign up for reunion.com that they will auto-renew you without your permission, and only allow you to cancel after paying a $5 fee.
| Forum legend: | |
| Locked thread | |
| Moderator | |
![]() |
CNET staff |
![]() |
Samsung staff |
| Norton Authorized Support team | |
| AVG staff | |
| Windows Outreach team | |
![]() |
Dell staff |
| Intel staff | |