Version: 2008
Advanced Search
advertisement
advertisement

Forum display:

Community weekly poll: Has anyone at Cnet heard of powerpromote.com or digitalwave

by markopolo333 - 12/12/07 2:27 AM
advertisement
Post 1 of 10

Has anyone at Cnet heard of powerpromote.com or digitalwave

by markopolo333 - 12/12/07 2:27 AM

Powerpromote.com claims that Cnet and CNN rated them as one of the best websites. They are promoting a company called DIGITAL WAVEMEDIA,and I am considering buying there product(a website),but first,I want to know if they are real and if Cnet knows who they are,or if anyone knows who they are?

Thanks a lot in advance for your help and time.
Mark

Post 2 of 10

Looks phishy to me...

by John.Wilkinson Moderator - 12/12/07 1:08 PM In reply to: Has anyone at Cnet heard of powerpromote.com or digitalwave by markopolo333

Mark,

I looked over the site and found it to resemble many scams I have seen before. The author used many of the standard scammer phrases and hook lines, inserted random quotes unrelated to his site as 'confirmation' of its validity, registered the website with an anonymous e-mail address and a random PO Box, has no evident business affiliations, and listed his middle name is listed as, quote, "**". (That's two asterisks.) In addition, I could not find any reviews or mentions of the website on Cnet or CNN, two of the supposed backers, or anywhere else for that matter. I have forwarded your message along so Cnet can take any appropriate action. In the mean time I would not submit any information through that website or do business with them.

Regards,
John

Post 3 of 10

Thank you for your help!

by markopolo333 - 12/13/07 8:56 PM In reply to: Looks phishy to me... by John.Wilkinson Moderator

This has helped me to make my decision,thank you very much for your time and help,John.
Sincerely
Mark

Post 4 of 10

I'm going to send their website address to our legal team..

by Lee Koo (ADMIN) Moderator - 12/12/07 1:19 PM In reply to: Has anyone at Cnet heard of powerpromote.com or digitalwave by markopolo333

to investigate. Just to check to see if what they state on their website's front door of "#1 rated site on CNET" checks out.

Just to let you know, I did a quick search myself to see if CNET and their company had any association with one another or if CNET had reviewed the company's products, but nothing turned up.

Personally I would ask powerpromote directly to give some reference or documentation for the proof that CNET does in fact rate their site as #1... I see our company logo on the site, but where is the backing of that info?

Anyways I'll forward this to our legal team to check out and hopefully they can turn up some info on this company.

Thanks!

-Lee

Post 5 of 10

Thank you !

by markopolo333 - 12/13/07 9:00 PM In reply to: I'm going to send their website address to our legal team.. by Lee Koo (ADMIN) Moderator

Thanks a lot,Lee,for your help. I will do what you said to do on my part. Your help is appreciated.
Thanks again
mark

Post 6 of 10

Follow up: Good thing you asked Mark...

by Lee Koo (ADMIN) Moderator - 12/12/07 3:17 PM In reply to: Has anyone at Cnet heard of powerpromote.com or digitalwave by markopolo333

I just got word that they are using CNET's logo without our permission. And our legal team on it now.

I'm agreeing with what John said above, that this business is a bit fishy. And to be on the safe side, I wouldn't submit or do business with these folks.

-Lee

Post 7 of 10

Thanks again,Lee!

by markopolo333 - 12/13/07 9:07 PM In reply to: Follow up: Good thing you asked Mark... by Lee Koo (ADMIN) Moderator

I really am grateful for people like you guys on Cnet. Without you,people like myself would be out of luck.
Thanks a lot once again!
Mark

Post 8 of 10

i think i just felt for the scam

by donella99 - 3/5/08 2:16 PM In reply to: Follow up: Good thing you asked Mark... by Lee Koo (ADMIN) Moderator

i saw your logo at the power promote website that claims to be linked to you,and now i fond this forum.do you know of any legal action i can take or any step i can take to avoid any further damage?? i'd really appreciate it.
bad news i aready paid the 47 bucks and no answer from them.
i cant believe i was so naive!
Thanks in advance
donella

Post 9 of 10

So Whats the verdict

by willieferg - 4/24/08 2:33 PM In reply to: i think i just felt for the scam by donella99

Does anyone no for sure if these guys are legit
It's been over a month since you posted Did you ever get your money back

Post 10 of 10

They are phony

by donella99 - 4/25/08 6:27 PM In reply to: So Whats the verdict by willieferg

The answer my email back ,but sent a long and complicated instructions to fallow.
then never got my money back.
Just dont trust them
DD

Forum legend:
Locked Locked thread
Moderator Moderator
CNET staff CNET staff
Samsung staff Samsung staff
Norton Authorized Support team Norton Authorized Support team
AVG staff AVG staff
Windows Outreach team Windows Outreach team
Dell staff Dell staff
Intel staff Intel staff
Powered by Jive Software