Hi all.
I recently read some positive revues about Hazard Shield so I decided to visit download.com and give it a try.
Now, I make it a habit of scanning all my downloads for malware prior to opening them using the following service:
http://virusscan.jotti.org/
When I uploaded the file, the first scanner (A-squared) found the following:
Backdoor.Win32.mIRC-based.d
It was the only scanner in the whole list to find anything. I suspect that this may be a false positive. How can I know for sure?
Thanks in advance.
You can submit it to Emsisoft to re-anlyse. Go to forums of Emsisoft and please notify them: http://forum.emsisoft.com/
Or contact them at http://www.emsisoft.com/en/support/contact
Tell them that their scanner is detecting backdoor to the said program, Hazard Shield.
You can also try to upload the file at Virustotal:
http://www.virustotal.com
There are 32 malware scanner in virustotal
I'll give that a shot. Thanks for the advice.
| Forum legend: | |
| Locked thread | |
| Moderator | |
![]() |
CNET staff |
![]() |
Samsung staff |
| Norton Authorized Support team | |
| AVG staff | |
| Windows Outreach team | |
![]() |
Dell staff |
| Intel staff | |