Version: 2008
Advanced Search
advertisement
advertisement

Forum display:

AnchorDesk Lounge: I may be the victom of a scam...

by jsolomonster - 12/15/06 6:27 PM
advertisement
Post 151 of 162

ACM

by scubavol - 11/2/07 2:01 PM In reply to: ACM by 5_2one

I got here by Googling the 800# and saw that there was apparently no resolution. I called Citibank; they wanted to know if I had called the number. I said no, having read this and knowing it would do no good. They suggested I call, I said fine, called and got the recording, called Citi back. This time, they said they had the charge on a known list of "bad" charges and said I had a credit coming with no need for an investigation. It was so easy I'm surprised no one else has gotten satisfaction- I only hit the first and last of this thread but saw no on e who got a refund.

Post 152 of 162

I Did Get A Refund

by mamichuli - 11/2/07 3:08 PM In reply to: ACM by scubavol

I noticed the charge the day it appeared and I contacted the card company immediately. I couldn't dispute it until (if) it posted. Obviously it posted and I immediately contacted the fraud department and faxed my dispute over to the card copmapny and I did get a refund. The refund is fine. However, I'm more concerned about the fact of ACM getting people's card information and charging it. Who else has our info?

Post 153 of 162

I may be the victim of a scam . . .

by scammed1 - 11/23/07 6:17 PM In reply to: I may be the victom of a scam... by jsolomonster

Add me to the list. I just noticed the $9.85 charge on my debit card posted on Sept. 28, 2007. I received my bank statement which included the last few days of Sept. 2007 and then all activity for mo. of October and while reviewing it, I noticed the charge. I Googled the 866-464-6836 number and this is how I got to this Forum.
I went to my bank and filled out a dispute form and closed out my debit card account. My bank tells me they had the credit card number and not the bank account itself so I just closed the debit card account and will get a new debit card. My bank acct. is tied to too many other venues including my payroll deposit, mortgage acct., etc.
I can't imagine ACM getting a hold of anyone's "real" bank account!!
Any news/developments lately on this scam?

Post 154 of 162

Re: Scammed

by jsolomonster - 11/23/07 6:29 PM In reply to: I may be the victim of a scam . . . by scammed1

Unfortunately, nothing new to report on the ACM front. They continue to scam people unabated. I never received a response from the Internet Fraud Center (IC3), but maybe someone else will have better luck than I. Hard to believe it's going to be one full year next month since I was scammed and started this thread.

Post 155 of 162

Want to know who it is?

by firex726 - 12/2/07 4:22 PM In reply to: I may be the victim of a scam . . . by scammed1

Hello All,

I had the same thing happen with me, I got a charge for $9.85 on my card, and my bank was less then helpful...

After finding this thread and the phone number for the company, I wen on Google and did a little snooping...

It looks like this is the company making the charges:
http://inter800.com/cgi-bin/kwd800

If you notice on that page they have some contact information as well as a website:
http://goliath.ecnext.com/coms2/product-compint-0000687219-page.html

Which is just a splash page so no help there...
http://www.pbbooks.org/

But after doing a WHOIS lookup on who registered that domain I found this information:

(Please notice the TLD for the email)

####################

Domain ID:D149738911-LROR
Domain Name:PBBOOKS.ORG
Created On:12-Nov-2007 11:12:40 UTC
Expiration Date:12-Nov-2008 11:12:40 UTC
Sponsoring Registrar:Tucows Inc. (R11-LROR)
Status:TRANSFER PROHIBITED
Registrant ID:tuvQZcLn4QjCQDO0
Registrant Name:Barry Wilding
Registrant Organization:Get Local Limited
Registrant Street1:Mill House
Registrant Street2:Mill Lane
Registrant Street3:Sissinghurst
Registrant City:Cranbrook
Registrant State/Province:ON
Registrant Postal Code:TN172HX
Registrant Country:GB
Registrant Phone:+44.1580715819
Registrant FAX:+44.1580713102
Registrant domains@get-local.co.uk

####################

After doing a WHOIS on that (The TLD for the email) domain as well I found this information:

(Notice the name is the same for both domains...)

####################

Domain name:
get-local.co.uk

Registrant:
Get Local Limited

Registrant type:
Unknown

Registrant's address:
Mill House, Mill Lane
Sissinghurst
Kent
TN17 3SQ
GB

Registrar:
Pipex Communications UK Ltd t/a 123-Reg.co.uk [Tag = 123-REG]
URL: http://www.123-reg.co.uk

Relevant dates:
Registered on: 09-Jun-2004
Renewal date: 09-Jun-2008
Last updated: 07-Apr-2006

Registration status:
Registered until renewal date.

Name servers:
ns.rackspace.com
ns2.rackspace.com

####################

Also note who the host is: http://accessitx.com/ (Theres a little more to it; tracert, IPWHOIS, etc... (Do a tracert on the first domain (PBBOOKS.ORG), then do an IPWHOIS lookup on this, and thats where I got the above host from... ))

This is company that actually has the server, so while it wont help get your money back right away, regardless of where the person doing this is living he is doing it via a server in the US and is thus subject to US laws...

If enough people complain about them to the ISP, as well as the authorities then the account information for that person can handled over to the US and a case made against them...

And just a point of clarification the: http://www.123-reg.co.uk
Is just a reseller, the actual server belongs to accessitx...

Post 156 of 162

Thanks for doing all that work

by pyecheri - 12/3/07 6:41 AM In reply to: Want to know who it is? by firex726

I'm not sure how to use it though. I did write some time ago to the local consumer affairs reporter and got no response - apparently they aren't interested in it. One good thing to note, my bank, which is actually a credit union, immediately credited that amount back to me. I don't know what they did with the information I gave them, but there have not been any more charges.

Probably this thief, or ring of thieves, is also involved in other kinds of illegal activities and I'll bet someone is watching what they are doing. It is very interesting that so many people have been affected and yet we have heard nothing about it in the media.

Post 157 of 162

Add me to the list too

by Baity4 - 3/5/08 5:47 AM In reply to: Thanks for doing all that work by pyecheri

Today, 3/5/2008, I too have been a victim of the ACM Scam. Called my bank today when I first saw the infamous $9.85 as a pending transaction on my account. Can't do anything until the charge posts to my account then I can dispute it. I cancelled my debit card and the bank rep tells me this should solve my problem. I have always been vigilent about my account for this very reason. Too bad this scam has gone on so long. These thieves are probably living it up on a beach in Miami $9.85 at a time.....

Post 158 of 162

3/8/08 hit by ACM scam

by lukecom - 3/10/08 10:00 AM In reply to: Add me to the list too by Baity4

Hit me on 3/8.

ACM 877-264-8769 CA

The bank says because it is under $15 they can't claim fraud... How there is a minimum to be fraud is beyond me. Since this has been going on for over a year by the looks of this thread. Looks to be easily thousands or millions in fraud.

Although my credit union did credit the money back.

Post 159 of 162

Re: 3/8/08 hit by ACM scam

by jsolomonster - 3/10/08 11:43 AM In reply to: 3/8/08 hit by ACM scam by lukecom

Thanks for sharing your story with us. The whole minimum amount deal is asinine, as you can plainly see from this thread alone how and why they are able to get away with it. $9.85 may not be much on its own, but multiply that by several thousand and it certainly adds up. Good to see you were able to get your money back as many of us were unable to do so.

Post 160 of 162

Not this company

by Hans Kraay - 7/25/08 7:24 AM In reply to: Want to know who it is? by firex726

Get Local bought the domain name pbbooks.org via a public auction on OpenSRS/Tucows. This is a matter of public record. Get Local is nothing to do with the scam company that you are referring to.

Post 161 of 162

scam

by shahab814 - 1/25/09 12:43 AM In reply to: I may be the victom of a scam... by jsolomonster

I doubt somebody will scam 4 eight dollars.
-----------------------------------------
http://www.bestcreditrates.net

Post 162 of 162

re: doubt?

by jsolomonster - 2/4/09 8:43 AM In reply to: scam by shahab814

Oh, you bet they can. If you scam enough people for eight bucks and fall under the radar, that's a lot of money you've robbed from people.

More Discussions

Forum legend:
Locked Locked thread
Moderator Moderator
CNET staff CNET staff
Samsung staff Samsung staff
Norton Authorized Support team Norton Authorized Support team
AVG staff AVG staff
Windows Outreach team Windows Outreach team
Dell staff Dell staff
Intel staff Intel staff
Powered by Jive Software