I am in the market for the new Canon 40d. I can't believe the differences of the cost of the camera from online retailers. Some are less then half the price of others. They all say they are legit and have a US warranty. I am skeptical about a price that seems to good to be true. How can one determine if your getting a great deal or just getting ripped of?
If you find a Canon 40D for more than $50 less than $1,300 ....... watch out.
The 40D is a sellers market and no one is selling it at a bargain price.
There are dozens of "bait and switch" camera sellers.
It seems that most are located in Brooklyn.
They advertise a low price, so you order the camera.
Then you get an email to contact the store to confirm your order.
You are told that the camera you ordered does not have a long life battery and they have an excellent battery to sell you.
If you go for that, they then have a better lens, better this and that.
If you agree to buy about $1,000 worth of extras, you will get your camera at the bargain price.
If you reject their offer and just want the camera you ordered, it is suddenly out of stock.
..............
Buying on-line:
First look and find their physical address on the website.
Street address and City.
If you can't find it ...... you have likely found a bait and switch seller.
They don't want you to know their address.
Next:
Let's say their name is camerawhatever.com
Do a Google search for
camerawhatever.com review
That will turn up several sites that rate on-line sellers.
Usually they rate them from 0 to 10.
Ten being the best.
epinions.com is one such reviewer.
If it is a bait and switch seller......the rating will be very low.
Usually about one.
But......even here you have to be alert.
Because the bait and switch sellers have now started their own rating service on-line.
It will post only good things about their clients which are bait-and-switch sellers.
So, read several of the rating sites (not just one).
The old saying is still accurate:
"If it sounds too good to be true ......... it is."
...
..
.
Thanks snapshot for the information.I called a camera store that had the D40 at $650.00usd He thought the camera was in stock but would not say definitively.The price went up to 1030.00 dollars after I told him I did not have internet access to check his store price online.Better off sticking with a reputable dealer. Again thanks for your response.
There are a few reputable on-line sites with reasonable prices:
www.bhphotovideo.com
www.amazon.com
www.adorama.com
Yes I am familiar with these dealers particularly bh. Thanks for your advice and imput.
| Forum legend: | |
| Locked thread | |
| Moderator | |
![]() |
CNET staff |
![]() |
Samsung staff |
| Norton Authorized Support team | |
| AVG staff | |
| Windows Outreach team | |
![]() |
Dell staff |
| Intel staff | |