Version: 2008
Advanced Search
advertisement
advertisement
mySimon mySimon mySimon Outdoor Gear mySimon Swimwear mySimon Home and Garden

Forum display:

The Real Deal: Is satellitetvtopc.com For real or a scam

by ozyman4269 - 9/11/06 4:50 AM
advertisement
Click Here
Post 1 of 27

Is satellitetvtopc.com For real or a scam

by ozyman4269 - 9/11/06 4:50 AM

I found a linnk to this web page htp://www.satellitetvtopc.com

It looks good, almost too good.

Has anyone out there tried it? Does it work? What's the quality? Is it worth it.

If it's bogus can some one tell me why and maybe link to a forum where it's discussed?

If it's legit I'm ready and willing to give it a try!

Discussion locked
Post 2 of 27

I say fake.

by udayan71 Moderator - 9/11/06 10:58 AM In reply to: Is satellitetvtopc.com For real or a scam by ozyman4269

The formatting is similar to an eBay listing which suggests a certain lack of professionalism. Countless red flags called about the list of countries and claims by the service.

Also, whatsup with their Privacy Policy & Legal Notice being just text and not links.

Scam.
Udayan.

Discussion locked
Post 3 of 27

I think you're right

by ozyman4269 - 9/12/06 12:00 AM In reply to: I say fake. by udayan71 Moderator

It does look too good to be true

the Disclaimer and legal notice don't go anywhere and the "Affiliates" Link goes to some weird ass page.

Discussion locked
Post 4 of 27

Satellite tv to pc .

by masoncycle - 9/27/06 5:33 PM In reply to: I think you're right by ozyman4269

Thanks for the detective work, I need to learn about searching links like the ones you mention.

Discussion locked
Post 5 of 27

I wrote to one of the People who gave it feedback on E-bay

by ozyman4269 - 9/27/06 9:51 PM In reply to: Satellite tv to pc . by masoncycle

So I wrote to them and they said they never got it to work and that it's probably bogus

Discussion locked
Post 6 of 27

looking for answers

by MsLainy - 10/4/06 10:00 PM In reply to: I wrote to one of the People who gave it feedback on E-bay by ozyman4269

I too came here looking for an answer as to what this is all about, sounds like another way to get into your billfold. It would be very cool if this was on the up and up...I'd never leave my computer then!
MsLainy

Discussion locked
Post 7 of 27

They even have their own FAKE reviews

by fdumee - 10/6/06 3:16 PM In reply to: I say fake. by udayan71 Moderator

Seems obvious to me...
Same font, same colors, bad layout, score 10 out of 10...

See for yourself:

http://www.satellitetvtopc.net/

As fake as you can get.
I bet quite a few people pay the 50 bucks and never hear anything again, certainly not a TV channel from MONGOLIA.

The main page of: http://www.satellitetvonpc.com
really shows all the elements of scam:
- all text centered
- use of color without any purpose
- no professional look
- sentences like:
*THIS HUGE SELECTION IS NOT FOUND ANYWHERE ELSE*

And what really make me crack up was this one:
"The development costs of this product alone are more than $246,480."...
yeah, I bet... and 37 cents.

Cheers, Frank

Discussion locked
Post 8 of 27

Here is one that is for real.

by sweetkuki - 10/20/06 9:47 PM In reply to: Is satellitetvtopc.com For real or a scam by ozyman4269

www.tvunetworks.com

Signed up for it for a one time price of $39. It is for real and it does work. HBO, ESPN, Animal Planet, Comedy, etc etc etc. They will even let you try out a small selection of channels for free to see what it's like.

Discussion locked
Post 9 of 27

Fake scam of tvunetworks.com

by xcgeek - 6/20/07 9:21 AM In reply to: Here is one that is for real. by sweetkuki

The screen shot of the www.satellitetvtopc.com page shows an application that looks exactly like the tvunetworks.com player (which I have used.) The tvunetworks.com player is OK, but the channel selection is pretty limited with a lot of foreign language stuff and not much real programming. I like to watch the odd European sports on it. I suspect the fake www.satellitetvtopc.com site just sends you the free download version of the tvunetworks.com player and that only gives you a few channels. PS the registered address of the domain name is fake - that postal code does not exist in Canada.

Discussion locked
Post 10 of 27

Yeah i agree

by ccsim - 7/23/08 7:35 AM In reply to: Here is one that is for real. by sweetkuki

www.tvunetworks.com does work. I downloaded the free player and watch shows like the green hornet on blackbelt tv for free, i guess you get more channels if you pay. It must have been hell for Bruce Lee to play sidekick to the green hornet when he knew he could kick his but anytime,lol.

Discussion locked
Post 11 of 27

I'm not sure if www.tvunetworks.com is real either

by meganite - 9/18/08 1:42 PM In reply to: Yeah i agree by ccsim

I downloaded the software, connected to a channel that I already have on my TV, Nickelodeon to be exact. I found tvunetworks was playing totally different show that was brodcasting on TV.

Discussion locked
Post 12 of 27

Ask the man himself

by pcwisdom - 10/21/06 6:51 PM In reply to: Is satellitetvtopc.com For real or a scam by ozyman4269

Admin Name........... David Miller
Admin Address........ 115 Smart Rd
Admin Address........
Admin Address........ Silver
Admin Address........ N9L 6U9
Admin Address........ ON
Admin Address........ CANADA
Admin Email.......... affiliates@satellitetvtopc.com
Admin Phone.......... +1.2100733
Admin Fax............

Discussion locked
Post 13 of 27

Is it really true?Satellite to tv pc

by okkinakia - 10/24/06 2:51 PM In reply to: Ask the man himself by pcwisdom

I JUST WANTED TO KNOW IF IT REALLY WORKS. SO THAT I CAN RECOMMEND IT TO FRIENDS.

Discussion locked
Post 14 of 27

New Zealand angle

by paulnzkiwi - 11/29/06 12:45 AM In reply to: Is it really true?Satellite to tv pc by okkinakia

Just to let everyone know these guys are faxing info to NZ business with channels like CNN HBO NBC ABC cartoon network.. Way to good to be true. Send your $50 NZ if you really want to prove your stupidity

Discussion locked
Post 15 of 27

It does work

by CompCrit - 7/17/07 11:01 PM In reply to: Is it really true?Satellite to tv pc by okkinakia

I tried it and it does totally work. Some people just think everything good is too good to be true unfortunately

Discussion locked
Forum legend:
Locked Locked thread
Moderator Moderator
CNET staff CNET staff
Samsung staff Samsung staff
Norton Authorized Support team Norton Authorized Support team
AVG staff AVG staff
Windows Outreach team Windows Outreach team
Dell staff Dell staff
Intel staff Intel staff
Powered by Jive Software