Version: 2008
Advanced Search
advertisement
advertisement

Forum display:

Digital cameras: Anyone purchased from USAPhotoNation.com??

by LASON1 - 7/23/06 5:27 PM
advertisement
Post 1 of 12

Anyone purchased from USAPhotoNation.com??

by LASON1 - 7/23/06 5:27 PM

I am looking into making a purchase from www.usaphotonation.com and was wondering if anyone has purchased anything from them and what their experience with the company is? Thank you for all the help.

Post 2 of 12

Run, don't walk, AWAY!

by Kiddpeat - 7/23/06 6:07 PM In reply to: Anyone purchased from USAPhotoNation.com?? by LASON1

Rated .28 out of 10 at resellerratings.

Post 3 of 12

Try visiting www.resellerratings.com

by akshaya_jam - 7/23/06 10:01 PM In reply to: Anyone purchased from USAPhotoNation.com?? by LASON1

This is a great website that can give you the scoop on all of those "super-duper-deal" websites that are really just scams and major trouble! This website saved me from purchasing a camera from a seedy place in Brooklyn know to be an up-and-running scam-business.

Post 4 of 12

Recommend?

by LASON1 - 7/24/06 7:35 AM In reply to: Try visiting www.resellerratings.com by akshaya_jam

Is there a store on the net that you would recommend?
I am looking for a Nikon D50. USA has it for $410, but that is really low compared to everyone else...bait & switch I would imagine.

Post 5 of 12

Bait and Switch

by snapshot2 Moderator - 7/24/06 7:15 AM In reply to: Anyone purchased from USAPhotoNation.com?? by LASON1

Here is what ePinions.com has to say:

http://www.epinions.com/msg/show_~threads/cat_id_~22/id_~5399/forum_id_~145

USAPhotoNation
aka
Radio Active Electronics
Radio Active Deals

Located in Jamaica, NY (near Brooklyn)

Brooklyn and nearby is a hotbed of camera bait-and-switch operations.

...
..
.

Post 6 of 12

Recommend?

by LASON1 - 7/24/06 8:27 AM In reply to: Bait and Switch by snapshot2 Moderator

Would you recommend an online place to get the best price on a Nikon D50?

Thanks

Post 7 of 12

Recommend

by rdoan76 - 7/24/06 1:09 PM In reply to: Recommend? by LASON1

I would recommend going to either:

www.adorama.com
www.bhphotovideo.com
www.tristatecamera.com

All three of these are authorized Nikon resellers. I have purcased from Adorama and B&H and have had good experiences. I think Adorama charges less for shipping than B&H does.

Post 8 of 12

Nikon D50

by snapshot2 Moderator - 7/24/06 2:56 PM In reply to: Recommend? by LASON1

You are not going to find a bargain price on the D50.

It is a hot seller and the dealers are keeping the price steady.

If you see it advertised at a low price.....be very suspicious.

You have to investigate each price, because some prices include starter lens and some do not.

The places mentioned by rdoan76 are all reliable sources.

...
..
.

Post 9 of 12

Thanks

by LASON1 - 7/24/06 7:23 PM In reply to: Nikon D50 by snapshot2 Moderator

Yeah, it seems to be pretty consistent throughtout the "reputable" dealers. Currently BestBuy has it on sale for $664, other than that its anywhere from $675 - $700 and up. Thanks for the help. Do you think there might be sales for Labor Day?

Post 10 of 12

check it out

by 1mobilman - 8/6/06 11:40 PM In reply to: Nikon D50 by snapshot2 Moderator

Like the one person said Adorama is very reliable I have done thousands of dollars with them never one problem they are very good to deal with. When you order from adorama you get exactly what you ordered and noyhing else. Stay away from prestige camera [I found out the hard hard] which there company has seven different names I ordered an FZ-30 through prestige and got grey market call them up and was told worry we will fix it if it breaks. I called panasonic and if it grey market they will not even touch it if you want to pay for it.As far as I am concerned adorama is by far the number one store for me. B&H is supposed to be good also Ritz camera another. Here is a link below check out Usaphotonation. also if dealing with camera stores from New york here is a link to check them out also listed below.

http://www.newyork.bbb.org/reports/businessreports.aspx?pid=44
http://www.newyork.bbb.org/reports/businessreports.aspx?id=80809&pid=44&page=0&FindStr=usa+photo+nation&SearchBy=company&Address=&City=&Phone1=&Phone2=&Phone3=&MembersOnly=False

Joe D
God Bless And Have A Great Day

Post 11 of 12

Please DO NOT purchase from USA Photo Nation!!!!!!!

by albertorizo - 7/24/06 3:27 PM In reply to: Anyone purchased from USAPhotoNation.com?? by LASON1

Like the previous poster said...RUN! Learn from my mistake!!! I usually purchase only from CNET listed stores but I got caught up with a salesperson when I called to check on usa photo's price on the rebel xt. The price listed was body only, no supporting accessories. When I "upgraded" to the body with incl accessories price went up. Salesperson also lied to me to sell me an add'l charger. I didn't take the time to do my research and got swindled! Purchased $119 rapid charger along with a 4 hr battery...found same items online for $14.95 and $18.95. They don't give brand name so you don't know what you are getting until you open the box. On top of it all, 3 days after my purchase my credit card company called and said that 3 attempts of fraud had been attempted on my card. HMMM....wonder how that happen!! These guys bait and switch, lie to sell product and refuse to take items back. They price as a pkg without telling you and then say you can only return as a pkg and pay 15% restocking fee. DO NOT BUY FROM THEM!!!!!!

Post 12 of 12

Don't even think about it

by Database1 - 7/26/06 6:04 AM In reply to: Anyone purchased from USAPhotoNation.com?? by LASON1

These people are major league liars and scammers. The classic bait and switch artists. Stay away.

Forum legend:
Locked Locked thread
Moderator Moderator
CNET staff CNET staff
Samsung staff Samsung staff
Norton Authorized Support team Norton Authorized Support team
AVG staff AVG staff
Windows Outreach team Windows Outreach team
Dell staff Dell staff
Intel staff Intel staff
Powered by Jive Software