There are a lot of neat sites that perform all kinds of functions. The question is how to determine if they are safe.
For instance, I have learned of a site called "ImageShack". One can upload photos to the site and they will provide a URL to that photo. Then all one has to do is send that URL as a link in an e-mail to a friend, family member etc., and they can view the photo at their leisure.
I am reasonably sure it is a legitimate site but what if it isn't? I would hate to think I am directing my friends into a site that could be damaging.
I think I learned of ImageShack here on this forum. Should I feel comfortable with sites referred to on cnet?
Am I gun shy? You bet. Dog bites me once, his fault. Dog bites me twice, my fault. I have been bitten once.
DC
If it's referred to in a Cnet article, I wouldn't give it much second thought. If it's here in the forums, I'd be more cautious depending on who it is that linked to it. If it's Bob, Toni, Mark, Ray (Harinec), etc, I don't worry as I know they'd never steer me wrong. However, if it's a new member with a few posts I'd be a little more leery for the simple fact that I don't know the person who's recommending it. If it's something on Cnet's download.com, I'd read the reviews and be cautious. They do scan the software offered, but things have been known to slip through. (I've caught/reported a few myself.)
Now, for the software-side of things, I have two primary recommendations...Netcraft Toolbar and Site Advisor, both of which are free and available for Internet Explorer and Firefox. Netcraft Toolbar will give you information about the site you're at and help detect phishing sites. (ie Site look-a-likes that trick you into handing over private information.) SiteAdvisor (highly recommended) will give the site you're viewing a Green, Yellow, or Red flag based on spam, malware, popups, tracking cookies, and other nasties. It can also be used to 'highlight' all search results through Google, Yahoo, and MSN, alerting to which search results are safe and which are not. I trust both and rely on them daily.
Aside from that, always make sure you have a firewall and the usual malware protection in case you do pick up something.
Finally, I'd like to note that ImageShack.us is fine...they use a few tracking cookies but do not pose a threat or security risk. I use it all the time and wouldn't recommend something I thought to be harmful.
Hope this helps,
John
Like anything in life there is no guarantee,but you can check these HERE and HERE
Tom
Thanks John and Tom. You were more than helpful.
DC
Hi DC ,
i know that Mozilla firefox has a particular feature that can help detecting sefety of websites by displaying different colours on the top bar .
One thing is sure : if you read "WAREZ"...just
run away as faster as you can !
Regards
White [ITA]
What is Warez please? And why should we stay away from it?
Thanks.
Here's just one definition of:
Warez
Many of these types of rogue sites have virus and spyware vulnerabilities on their pages..To say the least, approach with caution.
Hope this helps.
Grif
Warez is illegal download sites for software. They upload the entire installation program and provide any serials that are needed. It is the equivalent of shop lifting.
...the owner of the copyrighted material is ALWAYS illegal unless the owner of the copyrighted material has given permission to do so.. Paying the owner of the P2P software, whether it be Limewire, or a warez site, it's bound to be illegal because they don't pay the owner of the music, movie, or software download.
Unfortunately, there are a number of users that get sucked into that scam..
Hope this helps.
Grif
Here's a simple little addon for Internet Explorer or Fire Fox.
www.siteadvisor.com
When you do searches it adds little notes in the search about the site. Check it out.
I got a message saying Firefox wouldn't permit it to download. Is there a problem here?
DC
By default, Firefox only allows you to install extensions from the secured Mozilla website. Thus, when you try to download an extension such as SiteAdvisor, an alert will come up in the yellow bar along the top of the browser window. You have to click the 'edit options' button and allow the site, then click to download again. SiteAdvisor is completely safe and highly recommended, so there's no worries.
Hope this helps,
John
Thanks John. It took me a minute or two to find the ''edit options'' button but once that was found the rest was easy.
And thanks to the rest who have helped with this problem.
Another case of ''Newbies forum to the rescue''.
DC
Got a good site from Kim Komando in Phoenix,Az. Try this web site, www.siteadvisor.com. It put a marker on Internet Explorer web page telling you if the site is safe. Hal
| Forum legend: | |
| Locked thread | |
| Moderator | |
![]() |
CNET staff |
![]() |
Samsung staff |
| Norton Authorized Support team | |
| AVG staff | |
| Windows Outreach team | |
![]() |
Dell staff |
| Intel staff | |